Books Like Perfume

BookSummaryClub Blog Books Like Perfume

Do you love the feel and vibrancy of a book that speaks to your senses, just like the scent? If so, Patrick Süskind’s novel Perfume is a great place to start. This classic tale follows Grenouille – an impoverished orphan with a unique ability to smell everything and anything – as he embarks on an incredible journey through 18th-century France.

With intense yet lyrical prose and stunning character development, it’s no wonder why this book has become one of the most beloved classics in literature over the past few decades.

Books similar to Perfume will also bring out those same feelings of awe and delight when reading them. This piece digs deeper into more olfactory-based stories you can pick up next.

The Scent Keeper by Erica Bauermeister

The Scent Keeper: A Novel
8,943 people on Amazon loves this❣️
The Scent Keeper: A Novel
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Erica Bauermeister (Author) – Gabra Zackman (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 05/21/2019 (Publication Date) – Macmillan Audio (Publisher)

This novel tells the story of a young girl who discovers a mysterious box full of strange and powerful scents while living with her father on an isolated island in the Pacific Northwest. As she explores each scent’s secrets, she becomes determined to uncover why these bottles have been so carefully guarded.

The Fragrant Mind By Valerie Ann Worwood

The Fragrant Mind: Aromatherapy for Personality, Mind, Mood and Emotion
341 people on Amazon loves this❣️
The Fragrant Mind: Aromatherapy for Personality, Mind, Mood and Emotion
  • Used Book in Good Condition
  • Worwood, Valerie Ann (Author)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 496 Pages – 08/13/1996 (Publication Date) – New World Library (Publisher)

This book is a must-read for those looking for a non-fiction exploration of the power of scent to evoke moods, emotions, and memories. Drawing on research from fields like psychology, essential oil therapy, and traditional Chinese medicine.

 The Crimson Petal and the White by Michel Faber

The Crimson Petal and the White
2,427 people on Amazon loves this❣️
The Crimson Petal and the White
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Michel Faber (Author) – Jill Tanner (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 05/18/2011 (Publication Date) – Canongate Audiobooks (Publisher)

This sprawling Victorian epic follows a poor prostitute named Sugar as she attempts to escape her dismal lot in life by becoming a governess. Intertwining themes of love, desire, and ambition, this novel delves deep into the depths of human nature and how the power of scent can evoke certain feelings in us all.

Is Perfume Based on a Book?

Yes! Perfume: The Story of a Murderer is based on the novel by German author Patrick Süskind. Initially published in 1985, this novel has gone on to become one of the most beloved classics in literature. In 2006, it was adapted into a film starring Ben Whishaw and Dustin Hoffman.

What is the Moral of the Book Perfume?

The underlying moral of Perfume is that beauty comes from within. Grenouille’s ability to isolate and identify individual scents allows him to appreciate the world in a way no one else can. Still, it is only when he discovers his own humanity that he finds true happiness. In other words, it is not physical beauty or scent that brings joy but humanity’s inner beauty.

Perfume also serves as a warning against unchecked ambition and greed. Grenouille’s insatiable desire for wealth and power leads him to commit heinous acts, eventually destroying his happiness. By contrast, finding contentment within oneself is what ultimately makes us fulfilled.

Final Read

From Patrick Süskind’s classic Perfume to Valerie Ann Worwood’s non-fiction exploration of essential oils, countless books about the scent can transport readers into a world of enchantment and discovery. Each book offers its own unique perspective on the power of the sense of smell and how it can evoke certain feelings in us all.

The moral of these stories is that beauty comes from within, and true joy can only be found by recognizing our own humanity. So if you’re looking for a book about the power of scent to transport readers into a world of enchantment, there are plenty of options.

🤙 Your Next Step… 🤙

Head across to one of the following pages for more goodies

🍕 Read our Blinkist review and become a member of Blinkist. Read or listen to 3000+ full version quality summaries!

🍕 Read our list of the best business books of all time

🍕 Read some more of our book summaries

🍕 See our top book summary apps