Books Like Silent Hill

BookSummaryClub Blog Books Like Silent Hill

Are you someone who enjoys horror, particularly survival-horror games like Silent Hill? If so, you’re familiar with the game, its signature atmosphere, and its scares. 

Have you ever wondered if any books could approximate that feeling of dread or evoke a similarly otherworldly sense of suspense? Well, if so, we are here to tell you that there most certainly are.

In this post, we will introduce five books that draw from Silent Hill’s horror concepts and chillingly capture similar stories within their pages. 

Ritual – Mo Hayder

Ritual
1,743 people on Amazon loves this❣️
Ritual
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Mo Hayder (Author) – Andrew Wincott (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 12/01/2013 (Publication Date) – Dreamscape Media, LLC (Publisher)

This book is set in Tokyo, a city that could have been taken from the mind of Silent Hill’s creator. The story follows Detective Jack Caffery as he investigates bizarre ritually-motivated murders.

Something sinister is happening, and a sense of dread builds until it reaches its climax.

The Mist – Stephen King

The Mist
7,082 people on Amazon loves this❣️
The Mist
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Stephen King (Author) – Will Patton (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 05/23/2017 (Publication Date) – Simon & Schuster Audio (Publisher)

This novella features the same creepy atmosphere found in Silent Hill. A mysterious, impenetrable fog enveloped a small town and filled it with strange creatures. The story follows a group of survivors trying to make sense of this surreal situation while struggling to stay alive.

The Haunting Of Hill House – Shirley Jackson, Laura Miller

The Haunting of Hill House
24,641 people on Amazon loves this❣️
The Haunting of Hill House
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Shirley Jackson (Author) – Bernadette Dunne (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 10/04/2010 (Publication Date) – Blackstone Audio, Inc. (Publisher)

A classic horror novel was a major influence on the development of Survival-Horror games such as Silent Hill. It follows four people, including Dr. Montague, who has come to investigate paranormal activity in the titular home.

As they spend more time there, strange events begin to occur, and sinister secrets are revealed.

What Books Inspired Silent Hill?

Several books have inspired the Silent Hill video game series. Here are three examples:

 “The Lost World” by Arthur Conan Doyle

SALE
The Lost World
11,602 people on Amazon loves this❣️
The Lost World
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Arthur Conan Doyle (Author) – Felbrigg Napoleon Herriot (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 03/07/2017 (Publication Date) – FNH Audio (Publisher)

The novel follows an expedition to a remote plateau in South America populated by dinosaurs and other pre-historic species, providing the basis for some monster designs seen in the games.

“The King in Yellow” by Robert W. Chambers

SALE
The King in Yellow
1,737 people on Amazon loves this❣️
The King in Yellow
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Robert W. Chambers (Author) – Stefan Rudnicki, Gabrielle de Cuir (Narrators)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 8 Pages – 03/21/2014 (Publication Date) – Blackstone Audio, Inc. (Publisher)

This collection of short stories introduces the eponymous character, a mysterious supernatural figure who serves as the main antagonist in Silent Hill 2.

These are just a few books that have inspired Silent Hill over the years, and there are many more out there to discover. For fans of the series, exploring these classic works is a great way to get a deeper insight into the world of Silent Hill.

What Should I Read if I Liked Stephen King?

If you enjoyed the suspenseful story arcs, heart-stopping twists, and downright creepy moments of Stephen King’s work, consider checking out other popular horror authors as listed below.

The Outsider by Stephen King 

SALE
The Outsider
59,877 people on Amazon loves this❣️
The Outsider
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Stephen King (Author) – Will Patton (Narrator)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 05/22/2018 (Publication Date) – Simon & Schuster Audio (Publisher)

Another classic to add to your must-read list! Stephen King’s most recent novel combines elements of a police procedural, horror, and supernatural thriller for a gripping read.

“The Girl on the Train”: by Paula Hawkins 

SALE
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
493,043 people on Amazon loves this❣️
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
  • Audible Audiobook
  • Paula Hawkins (Author) – Clare Corbett, Louise Brealey, India Fisher (Narrators)
  • English (Publication Language)
  • 01/13/2015 (Publication Date) – Penguin Audio (Publisher)

A psychological thriller about a woman embroiled in a missing persons case.

These books will provide you with the same gripping suspense and thrills you experienced while reading Stephen King novels.

What was Silent Hill based on?

Silent Hill was inspired by the real-life town of Centralia, Pennsylvania. Located in the Coal Region of Northeastern Pennsylvania, Centralia was once a thriving coal mining town with over 1,100 residents. 

In 1962, an underground fire broke out and spread throughout the abandoned coal mines beneath the town. Since then, Centralia has been uninhabitable due to the smoke, poisonous gases, and toxic fumes that constantly fill the air. The eerie town has become a tourist attraction and was used as an inspiration for the game Silent Hill.

Final Thoughts

Finding books like Silent Hill is not as daunting as it may seem. With the plethora of horror novels and gamebooks on the market, one can explore and journey through fantastical monsters, horrifying ghouls, and perplexing puzzles to truly experience all the horror genre has to offer. 

Whether you are interested in delving into something sinister or enjoy all the witches, warlocks, and undead creatures, look at this wide selection of books like Silent Hill.

🤙 Your Next Step… 🤙

Head across to one of the following pages for more goodies

🍕 Read our Blinkist review and become a member of Blinkist. Read or listen to 3000+ full version quality summaries!

🍕 Read our list of the best business books of all time

🍕 Read some more of our book summaries

🍕 See our top book summary apps